Sports, Cardiovascular, and Wellness Nutrition - A dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Information about SCAN's PULSE

This page contains general information for the public about SCAN's PULSE. If you are a SCAN Member looking for current or past issues of PULSE or CPE questions and certificates, you will need to: Sign in to the website > Click on Professional Development > Under Member Content on the left hand side, click on SCAN's PULSE Newsletters. If you have any questions about accessing PULSE, please contact the SCAN office here.


PULSE Newsletter

A sample copy of The PULSE is provided below:

A PULSE subscription is an exclusive member benefit. Join SCAN now!

Subscription cost for non-SCAN members is $50 (must not be eligble for membership in the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics); and $100 for institutions. The subscription will run June 1-May 31 (SCAN fiscal year). To subscribe, contact the SCAN Office at 800.249.2875 or email the SCAN Executive Director.

SCANNERS

SCANNERS (Scientific, Concise, Authoritative, Nutrition Nuggests for Everyone's Reference Series) are periodic inserts to the PULSE.  Current issues available below (posted for one year after publication date)


Guidelines for Authors

SCAN'S PULSE welcomes the submission of manuscripts to be considered for publication. In particular, PULSE is interested in receiving original research reports and review articles. Manuscripts presenting practical guidelines, case studies, and other information relevant to SCAN members are also welcome. Click here for more information on author guidelines.


Important PULSE Dates

The PULSE is published four times a year: Winter (January 10), Spring (April 1), Summer (July 1) and Fall (October 1).

Appropriate announcements will be considered for publication. Deadline for announcements:

  • Fall Issue
  • Winter Issue
  • Spring Issue
  • Summer Issue
  • June 1
  • Sept. 1
  • Dec. 1
  • Mar. 1

PULSE Editors

Editor-in-Chief, PULSE 
Mark Kern, PhD, RD, CSSD kern@mail.sdsu.edu

Managing Editor, PULSE
Annette Lenzi Martin annettemartin100@outlook.com

 

PULSE Editors

Editor-in-Chief, PULSE 
Mark Kern, PhD, RD, CSSD kern@mail.sdsu.edu

Managing Editor, PULSE
Annette Lenzi Martin annettemartin100@outlook.com

PULSE Section Editors

Sports Editors
Kristine Spence, MS, RD, CSSD kristispence@gmail.com

Michelle Barrack, PhD, RDN, CSSD Michelle.barrack@csulb.edu

 

Cardiovascular Editor

Satya Jonnalagadda, MBA, PhD, RD satya.jonnalagadda@kerry.com

 

Wellness Editor

Zachary Clayton, MS zclayton@uoregon.edu

Liz Fusco, RD, MS liz.fusco.nutr@gmail.com

 

Disordered Eating Editors

Karen Balnicki Wetherall, MS, RD kbalnick@utk.edu

Gena Wollenberg, PhD, RD, CSSD gena.wollenberg@okstate.edu

Julie Cooper, MS, RD julieanncooper@gmail.com

 

Conference Highlights Editor

Nancy Clark, MS, RD, CSSD nclarkrd@rcn.com

 

Reviews Editor

Kristina Morales kristinaalexamorales@gmail.com

 

SD—USA Research Digest Editors

Stacie Wing-Gaia, PhD, RD, CSSD stacie.wing@health.utah.edu
Kary Woodruff, MS, RD, CSSD kary.woodruff@health.utah.edu

 

SCAN Notables Editor

Traci Roberts fivespotjones@gmail.com

 

 

Page updated May 2017