Sports, Cardiovascular, and Wellness Nutrition - A dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

SCAN Awards Seal LOW



Download the 2014 SCAN Award Nomination Criteria

Download the 2014 SCAN Award Nomination Application

All Nominations Due by:  Friday, March 5, 2014, 5:00 PM CST



Excellence in Practice Award

Each year SCAN recognizes the outstanding practice of a SCAN member in one of SCAN’s four practice areas (cardiovascular dietetics, wellness/health promotion, disordered eating, or sports dietetics). The practice area in which the award is given rotates each year based on the nominated candidates.   A member may receive the award for efforts as an individual, part of a group, or part of an organization. Practice may include clinical practice, public health practice, consulting/corporate practice, program development, research, publication, education, or volunteer practice.

Achievement Award

Each year SCAN recognizes a SCAN practitioner who has played a significant role in the evolution of SCAN through both outstanding service to SCAN and professional accomplishments in the field.

Student Award

The SCAN Student Award recognizes a student member who has unmistakable commitment to at least one of SCAN’s practice areas (nutrition for cardiovascular disease, wellness and weight management, disordered eating and eating disorders, or sports and physical performance), as evidenced by outstanding contribution to SCAN, extraordinary community service, and academic excellence. The award will be presented annually at the SCAN Symposium, unless no candidate is nominated or meets the award criteria in a given year.

Distinguished Ambassador Award

The purpose of the SCAN Distinguished Ambassador Award is to acknowledge and bestow an honorary award on a well-respected professional who has consistently advocated for and promoted the registered dietitian as the only food and nutrition expert. Eligible candidates would be non-RD professionals who hold a position of pre-eminence in their specific area of expertise such as education, business, industry, public policy, consumer relations, research, etc. The rationale for this award is to honor a professional who has consistently demonstrated excellence in promoting the expertise of registered dietitians to varied audiences in ways that we cannot do ourselves. This form of promotion is priceless and deserves commendation. 

Distinguished Scholar Award

The SCAN Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to research or the practice of dietetics as a result of continued commitment to scholarship.



Excellence in Practice: Satya Jonnalagadda, PhD, RD

SCAN is proud to present the Excellence in Practice Award, which is one of  highest honors, to Satya Jonnalagadda. This award recognizes Satya for outstanding and professional accomplishments that advance her practice area of Cardiovascular Health, and which are achieved with high visibility and broad impact. Satya received her PhD in Human Nutrition and Foods from Virginia Tech, an MBA from Augsburg College, two postdoctoral fellowships at Brandies University and Pennsylvania State University, and a dietetic internship from Georgia State University. Prior to joining General Mills, Satya was an Associate Professor at Georgia State University in the Department of Nutrition, a clinical dietitian and a Senior Manager in Global R&D at Novartis Medical Nutrition. Satya has a strong Human Nutrition and Foods background in research, education, and clinical care, with areas of expertise including, chronic diseases treatment and management, specifically Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes, and Obesity; Sports Nutrition, and Critical Care Nutrition. 

Achievement: Christina Scribner, MS, RD, CSSD

In conferring this year’s Achievement Award, SCAN recognizes Christina Scribner as a practitioner who has played a significant role in the evolution of SCAN through both outstanding service to the organization and professional accomplishments in the field. Christina serves as a Faculty Associate at Arizona State University and owns Encompass Nutrition LLC, a private practice providing nutrition therapy located in Littleton,Colorado. Christina is dedicated to providing nutrition therapy consistent with the principles of excellence, integrity, and credibility. She strives to create a stimulating, effective learning and behavior change environment for students, patients, families and sports teams. Christina became a RD in 1986, a SCAN member in 1993, and CSSD in 2009. Previously, Christina served as the Nutrition Program Director at Metro State (now Metro State University) in Denver. She developed the Eating Disorders Minor and accredited Nutrition Major at Metropolitan State, and introduced students in the Nutrition and Human Performance programs to SCAN through student clubs, presentations, and courses.

Student: Sara Shipley

SCAN’s inaugural Student Award recognizes Sara Shipley, a SCAN student member, who has unmistakable commitment to at least one of SCAN’s practice areas as evidenced by outstanding contribution to SCAN, extraordinary community service, and academic excellence. A student member of SCAN since 2012, Sara serves as a Student Member Liaison to the ExecutiveCommittee, as well as an editor to the SCAN student quarterly e- newsletter, The Beat. Sara is a seniorNutrition, Dietetics and Food Management student at the University of Central Oklahoma pursuing her second bachelor’s degree, with a background in Fashion Marketing. Following graduation, Sara plans to pursue a dietetic internship and become a Registered Dietitian. Currently, Sara works as an intern for Banister and Associates, LLC, a registered dietitian’s private practice in Oklahoma City. Furthermore, she actively serves as the Vice-President of the UCO Student Association of Nutrition and Dietetics. Last January, Sara joined the UCO Peer Health Leadership Program, where she developed the ‘UCO Supermarket Smarts Tour’ program. Sara also volunteers at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center Hospital in the Food and Nutrition Department.


Past Excellence in Practice Award Recipients:

1997 Mary Dodds Spoon
1998 Denise Ferko-Adams
1999 Karin Kratina
2001 Melinda Manore
2002 Sondra Kronberg
2003 Susan Kundrat
2004 Brenda Davy
2005 Marilyn C. Holmes
2006 Nancy King
2007 Karen Balnicki Wetherall
2008 Nancy Clark
2009 Lisa Carlson
2010 Reba Sloan
2011 Karen Daigle
2012* Karen Collins, Alisa Krizan, Nanna L. Meyer, Eileen Myers
2013 Satya Jonnalagadda
*The practice area for this award rotates each year. However, in honor of SCAN's 30th anniversary, the award was given in each of SCAN's four practice areas in 2012.

Past Distinguished Ambassador Award Recipients:

2009 Dan Riley
2011 Patricia M. Babjak

Past Distinguished Scholar Award Recipients:

2007 Louise Burke
2008 Robert Murray
2011 Melinda Manore

Past Sports Dietetics-USA Meritorious Service Award Recipients:

2010 Suzanne Girard Eberle

Past Achievement Award Recipients:

1985 Merle Best
1986 Jean Storlie
1987 Marilyn Schorin
1988 Jackie Berning
1989 Penny Kris-Etherton
1990 Georgia Kostas
1991 Nema Frye
1992 Nancy Clark
1993 Dan Benardot
1994 Ellen Coleman
1995 Kristine Clark
1996 Lori Valencic
1997 Linda Zorn
1998 Nicki Zeidner
1999 Lynn Umbreit
2000 Karen Ross
2001 Ruth Carey
2002 Julie Burns
2003 Rita Johnson
2004 Marty Yadrick
2005 Karen R. Dolins
2006 Marie Dunford
2007 Michele Macedonio
2008 Chris Rosenbloom
2009 Nancy DiMarco and Patti Steinmuller
2010 Ingrid Skoog
2011 Roberta Anding
2013 Christina Scribner

Past Student Award Recipients:

2013 Sara Shipley